Top 6 Highest Scoring Africa Cup of Nations in History As 2023 Sets New Record

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations produced the most goals in the history of the competition, with the final yesterday between host Ivory Coast and Nigeria producing three goals.

The Elephants beat the Super Eagles 2-1 to win their third title, tying their opponent, who have also won Africa’s premier competition three times.

Emilio Nsue, Patrice Motsepe, AFCON 2023, Nigeria, Alassane Ouattara Stadium, Ivory Coast.


Highest scoring AFCONs

1. Ivory Coast 2023

The 34th edition of AFCON in Ivory Coast became the third tournament to produce more than 100 goals and set the record for most goals with 119. It is arguably the greatest ever in the history of the continent. Per CAF Online, Equatorial Guinea’s Emilio Nsue Lopez won the Golden Boot with five goals.



2. Egypt 2019

Per CGTN Africa, the 2019 edition in Egypt became the first to hit a century of goals. Algerian winger Riyadh Mahrez’s dying minutes strike against Nigeria in the semi-final was the 100th goal.

It was the first to have 24 teams and 52 games. The tournament ended with 102 goals, and Odion Ighalo won the Golden Boot with five goals.

3. Cameroon 2021

The 2021 edition attempted to beat the 2019 goalscoring record but fell short by two goals. The second edition to play the expanded 24-team tournament with 52 games. It ended with precisely 100 games, with Vincent Aboubakar winning the Golden Boot with eight goals.

4. Ghana 2008

The 26th edition of the AFCON held in Ghana in 2008 was close to hitting 100 goals despite playing just 32 games. The tournament ended with 99 goals, with the legendary Samuel Eto’o picking up the top scorer award with eight goals.

5. Burkina Faso 1998

It was the first tournament to cross the 90-goal mark. 1998 AFCON produced 93 goals. South Africa’s Benni McCarthy and Egypt’s Hossam Hassan shared the Golden Boot with seven goals each.

6. Tunisia 2004

Host Tunisia won their first title in 2004, beating Morocco in the final. 88 goals were scored in the tournament, with four players – Austin Jay Jay Okocha, Frederic Kanoute, Patrick Mboma and Francileudo Santos sharing the Golden Boot with four goals each.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button